Rank your selections

After selecting courses and programmes that interest you, the next step is to prioritise them. This is important when selection time arrives.

Ranking your selections is really important!

The selection process works a bit differently in Sweden. When the time comes to award places:

  • you'll first be considered for the programme you've ranked the highest
  • if you meet the entry requirements and there's a place available, you'll be offered one
  • all the programmes you ranked lower will then be deleted
  • if you aren't offered a place in the first programme on your list, your second choice will be evaluated, and so on.

You can be offered only one study place. As soon as you're offered a place in a programme, all the lower-ranked programmes will be deleted. 

We recommend you have your programmes ranked just as you'd like them before the application deadline.

Ranking deadline

You have until the application deadline to change your ranking order.

See Key dates for the exact deadline

How many selections can I make?

You can select up to four master's programmes. 

Changing ranking, adding and deleting courses after the deadline

After the application deadline, you can't change the ranking order of the courses and programmes you've already applied to.

What you can do is:

  • delete courses and programmes and add them back to your application with a different rank
  • add courses and programmes and place them anywhere in the ranking order.

Please note that these rank-changed and added courses and programmes will be considered a late application. They'll only be considered by the university if there are still places available after admissions selection.

Before making any changes to your application, make sure that the course/programme you wish to delete and add back has the status “Open for late application” in the course search.

We suggest you consider carefully before deleting and re-ranking courses and programmes. 

Is there a deadline for when I can delete a course/programme from my application?

There is! You can delete a course or programme up until selection begins for the application round. Selection usually starts about 3 days before admissions results are published. Make sure you make your changes before this time.

Last updated: 17 October 2021