The Swedish Council for Higher Education (UHR) and higher education institutions in Sweden must abide by the principle of public access to official documents.

What does this mean?

This means that any data registered in our systems is treated as a public document. In accordance with this, information about your application and qualifications is accessible to the public on request. However, it is not customary for UHR to pass on information of this kind to other sectors. 

What happens to my admission account and documents?

Your personal data as well as information about your qualifications is stored in the admissions database. UHR as well as higher education institutions process your data to assess your qualifications and decide whether to offer you a place in a course or programme. The management of this admissions database is governed by Swedish legislation (SFS:1153, including amendments).

The Personal Data Act

According to the Personal Data Act (PUL/SFS 1998:204; including amendments), every person registered in the admissions database has the right to receive information about the type of data recorded in his/her name. If you would like a copy of these records, you must apply in writing and the application must be signed by you. According to section 28 of PUL, you are entitled to request that your personal data be rectified, blocked or erased, should it be obvious that the data has not been treated in accordance with current legislation.

How long will my personal information and qualifications be stored?

According to the Swedish regulation Förordning (1993:1153) om redovisning av studier m.m. vid universitet och högskolor, admissions records can be purged after a period of activity. This purge is completed in February.

If you haven't submitted an admissions application in the previous 10 years, the following information will be deleted:

  • Personal data
  • Registered qualifications
  • Admissions results
  • Documents

If you've created an account but never submitted an application:

  • If you haven't submitted an application in the previous year, your account will be deleted.